Skip to Main Content


  • Welcome to new faculty member: Dr. Eileen Meyer

    Dr. Eileen Meyer joins the UMBC Physics faculty in the fall of 2015. As a multi-wavelength observational astronomer, her research focuses on the physics jets from the black holes at the centers...
    Posted: May 15, 2015 1:01 PM
  • Prof. Turner featured in Baltimore Sun article

    Study finds gas flowing from black hole could stunt galaxy growth By Scott Dance The Baltimore Sun
    Posted: March 31, 2015 3:18 PM
  • Congratulations to our 2015-16 URA and URAS Awardees

    James Loy  "Charge Transfer from Single Semiconductor Nanocrystals to Single Molecules"  Advisor: Dr. Pelton  2015-2016 URA Scholar John Hannegan  "Creating a Fiber-Laser Based THz System Using...
    Posted: March 27, 2015 3:55 PM
  • New article by recent graduate Dr. Hong Cai & Dr. Johnson

    Investigation of giant Kerr nonlinearity in quantum cascade lasers using mid-infrared femtosecond pulses  Hong Cai, Sheng Liu, Elaine Lalanne, and Anthony M. Johnson Citation: Applied Physics...
    Posted: March 3, 2015 10:34 AM
  • Dr. Michael Hayden elected as Fellow of the Optical Society

    Dr. L. Michael Hayden, UMBC Professor of Physics and Department Chair, was honored as a 2015 Fellow Member of The Optical Society (OSA), the leading professional society for researchers, industry...
    Posted: March 3, 2015 10:19 AM
  • New article by Dr. Sanjit Karmakar and Prof. Yanhua Shih

    "Noninvasive high resolving power entangled photon quantum microscope" Sanjit Karmakar, Ronald E. Meyers, and Yanhua Shih Journal of Biomedical Optics 20(1), 016008 (January 2015) Abstract:...
    Posted: January 21, 2015 12:03 PM
  • New article by PHYS grad student, Fernando Calderon Vargas

    "Directly accessible entangling gates for capacitively coupled singlet-triplet qubits" F. A. Calderon-Vargas and J. P. Kestner Phys. Rev. B 91, 035301 – Published 6 January 2015 Abstract:...
    Posted: January 21, 2015 11:15 AM
  • Congratulations to our newly awarded PhD's!

    Dr. Barry Baker, Dr. Hong Cai, Dr. Gergely Dolgos, and Dr. Liwang Ye all received their PhD's at the December 2014 graduation ceremony.
    Posted: January 16, 2015 3:35 PM
  • Dr. Georganopoulos receives NASA ADAP grant

    Dr. Markos Georganopoulos, an Associate Professor in the Physics Department, has been awarded (PI) a $400K, three-year NASA grant to study the nature of large scale relativistic jets in quasars...
    Posted: December 18, 2014 2:53 PM
  • Prof. Johnson invited to participate in IYL2015 in Paris

    Dr. Anthony Johnson has been invited to take part in the official launch of the International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies (IYL2015), which will be held at UNESCO Headquarters on 19...
    Posted: December 9, 2014 11:03 AM