Department Overview

physics_externalWelcome to the Department of Physics at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County!

We are located on the 500 acre main UMBC campus in the Baltimore suburbs just outside the Baltimore Beltway.

The department offers physics degrees at the BA, BS, and PhD levels, supported by over 20 tenure-track faculty. The department also maintains a robust and growing research portfolio, with concentrations in the following fields:

Researchers in the department are funded by NASA, NSF, Department of Defense, Department of Energy and private industry. Due to the close proximity to many government labs, our students have opportunities, via internships and fellowships, to work closely with researchers at the NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, the National Institutes of Science and Technology (NIST), the Army and Naval Research Laboratories and the NSA’s Laboratory for Physical Sciences.

The mission of the UMBC Department of Physics is to perform world-class research; to provide undergraduate students with a strong foundational education in physics; to prepare graduate students to become leading independent scientists; and to serve the larger community through teaching non-major students, performing community outreach, and serving in professional leadership roles outside the university. The department shares the UMBC dedication to cultural and ethnic diversity, inclusive excellence, global engagement, social responsibility, and lifelong learning.

The vision of the UMBC Department of Physics is to establish a reputation for world-class, internationally visible, and globally engaged research in atmospheric physics, astrophysics, condensed-matter physics, and quantum physics; to provide an unsurpassed education to a growing and changing population of undergraduate and graduate students; and to provide a supportive community where people of all backgrounds have the opportunity to pursue truth and excellence.