COVID-19 (Coronavirus)
UMBC campuses are closed, but courses are now online and employees are working remotely.
Skip to Main Content


  • Recent physics graduate Zack Smith publishes first paper

    Undergraduate researcher and recent physics graduate Zack Smith (Class 2020) publishes his first paper. Together with postdoctoral researcher Dr. Pal and Assistant Professor Dr. Deffner, Zack...
    Posted: June 2, 2020 10:20 AM
  • Congratulations to our 2020-21 URA Scholars

    Ben Brown "Developing Electro-optic polymers for wideband THz sensing" Mentor: Dr. Michael Hayden Ellen Gulian "Studying 2D Transition Metal Dichalcogenides using Density Functional Theory"...
    Posted: May 28, 2020 3:29 PM
  • Dr. Worchesky receives 2020 Carl S. Weber Teaching Award.

    Dr. Worchesky has been selected as the recipient of the 2020 Carl S. Weber Excellence in Teaching Award. The Carl S. Weber Excellence in Teaching Award honors a CNMS faculty member at UMBC with...
    Posted: May 21, 2020 1:32 PM
  • Congratulations to our Class of 2020 Graduate Students!

    Ph.D. Physics: Jaron A. Kropp Mentors: Dr. Theodosia Gougousi and Dr. Can Ataca "Investigations of Two-Dimensional Materials for Next-Generation Electronic Devices" Atmospheric Physics:...
    Posted: May 20, 2020 3:54 PM
  • New article from Lipi Mukherjee and Dr. Pengwang Zhai

    New article published in Remote Sensing. “Neural Network Reflectance Prediction Model for Both Open Ocean and Coastal Waters” Lipi Mukherjee, Peng-Wang Zhai, Meng Gao, Yongxiang Hu, Bryan A....
    Posted: May 15, 2020 1:14 PM
  • New article from Brent McBride and Dr. J. Vanderlei Martins

    New article published in Atmospheric Measurement Techniques. “Spatial distribution of cloud droplet size properties from Airborne Hyper-Angular Rainbow Polarimeter (AirHARP) measurements”...
    Posted: April 27, 2020 11:42 AM
  • Dr. Ataca's article on cover of Advanced Materials

    Dr. Ataca's article "Unusual Pressure‐Driven Phase Transformation and Band Renormalization in 2D vdW Hybrid Lead Halide Perovskites” published in the January addition of Advanced Materials has...
    Posted: April 2, 2020 4:18 PM
  • New article by grad student Daniel Wines and Dr. Ataca

    “Tuneable structure and magnetic properties in Fe3-xVxGe alloys” R. Mahat, Shambhu KC, D, Wines, F. Ersan, S. Regimi, U. Karki, R. White, C. Ataca, P. Padhan, A. Gupta, P. LeClair Steam Lab...
    Posted: April 1, 2020 12:53 PM
  • New article by Ataca group in Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys.

    “Electronic properties of bare and functionalized two-dimensional (2D) tellurene structures” D. Wines, J. Kropp, G. Chaney, F. Ersan, C. Ataca Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys., 2020, 22, 6727-6737...
    Posted: April 1, 2020 12:11 PM
  • Dr. Pengwang Zhai wins NASA Award

    NASA has selected Pengwang Zhai as a science team member of the Plankton, Aerosol, Cloud, and ocean Ecosystem (PACE) mission. Pengwang Zhai is an associate professor in the Physics Department,...
    Posted: March 20, 2020 1:01 PM