Skip to Main Content

Faculty

Tenured/Tenure-track Faculty
Contact Information
Eric Anderson
Anderson, Eric
Senior Lecturer
andersoe@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-5823
Physics, Room 320
Lili Cui
Cui, Lili
Lecturer
lili@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-2535
Physics, Room 321
nophoto
Demoz, Belay
Professor
Director of (JCET)

Bio

bdemoz@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-2715
Physics, Room 424
James Franson
Franson, James
Professor
jfranson@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-8115
Physics, Room 314
Markos Georganopoulos
Georganopoulos, Markos
Associate Professor
georgano@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-8149
Physics, Room 415
Ian George
George, Ian
Associate Professor
Director of CSST
ian.george@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-1518
Physics, Room 410

CSST Office: 410-455-1958
Lynne Griffith, Business Manager
Physics, Room 211

Theodosia Gougousi
Gougousi, Theodosia
Associate Professor
gougousi@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-6874
Physics, Room 317

Lab: 410-455-6252
Physics, Room 334

Michael L. Hayden
Hayden, L. Michael
Professor
Departmental Chair
hayden@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-3199
Physics, Room 218
Mark Henriksen
Henriksen, Mark
Associate Professor
henrikse@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-1980
Physics, Room 414
Johnson, Anthony
Johnson, Anthony
Professor
Director of CASPR
amj@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-8440
TRC Building, Room 029
Jason Kestner
Kestner, Jason
Assistant Professor
jkestner@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-2597
Physics, Room 316
Ivan Kramer
Kramer, Ivan
Associate Professor
kramer@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-2534
Physics, Room 312
J. Vanderlei Martins
Martins, J. Vanderlei
Associate Professor
Graduate Program Director – Atmospheric Physics
martins@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-2764
Physics, Room 429

Labs: 410-455-1924, 1929
Physics, Rooms 006, 304B & 405

Kevin McCann
McCann, Kevin
Associate Professor
kevin.mccann@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-2821
Physics, Room 315
 Matthew Pelton-new3 crop
Pelton, Matthew
Assistant Professor
mpelton@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-2532
Physics, Room 313

Lab: 410-455-3068
Physics, Rooms 306B

Todd Pittman
Pittman, Todd
Associate Professor
Graduate Program Director – Physics
todd.pittman@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-8114
Physics, Room 318

Lab: 410-455-8114
Physics, Rooms 304C & D

Philip Rous
Rous, Philip
Professor
Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
rous@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-2333
Administration Building, 10th Floor

Lab: (no phone)
Physics, Room 334D

Yanhua Shih
Shih, Yanhua
Professor
shih@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-2558
Physics, Room 310

Labs: 410-455-2796 & 2663
Physics, Rooms 010 & 011

Lynn Sparling
Sparling, Lynn
Associate Professor
sparling@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-6231
Physics, Room 425

Lab: 410-455-2548
Physics, Room 304A

L. Larrabee Strow
Strow, L. Larrabee
Research Professor
strow@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-2528
Physics, Room 432

Lab: 410-455-1935
Physics, Room 404E

Laszlo Takacs
Takacs, Laszlo
Associate Professor
Director, UMBC NanoImaging Center (NIC)
Chair, Graduate Admissions Committee
takacs@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-2524
Physics, Room 309

Labs: 410-455-2662 & 1927
Physics, Rooms 306C & 307

T. Jane Turner
Turner, T. Jane
Professor
tjturner@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-1978
Physics, Room 412
Terrance Worchesky
Worchesky, Terrance
Associate Professor
Associate Departmental Chair
Undergraduate Program Director
worchesk@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-6779
Physics, Room 217

Lab: 410-455-6811
Physics, Room 406B

nophoto
Zhai, Pengwang
Assistant Professor

Bio

pwzhai@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-
Physics, Room 427
Zhibo Zhang
Zhang, Zhibo
Assistant Professor
zhibo.zhang@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-6315
Physics, Room 418
Affiliated Faculty
Contact Information
David Davis
Davis, David
Associate Professor (CSST)
dsdavis@umbc.edu
Office: 301-286-9971
NASA/GSFC
Sergio De Souza-Machado
De Souza-Machado, Sergio
Assistant Professor (JCET)
sergio@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-1944
Physics, Room 430
Don Engel
Assistant Professor
donengel@umbc.edu
Office: 410-929-3643
ITE Building, Room 220
 Susan_Hoban
Hoban, Susan (JCET)
Associate Professor
hoban@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-8033
TRC, Room 181
 Kochunov, Peter

Kochunov, Peter
Research Associate Professor
(University of Maryland, Baltimore)

pkochunov@gmail.com
William Olson
Olson, William
Associate Professor (JCET)
bill.olson@nasa.gov
Office: 301-614-6314
NASA/GSFC
 Pottschmide, Katja
Pottschmidt, Katja (CSST)
Associate Professor
katja@umbc.edu
Office: 301-286-3335
NASA/GSFC
Remer, Lorraine
Remer, Lorraine (JCET)
Professor
remer@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-1986
Physics, Room 431
Tamas Varnai
Varnai, Tamas
Associate Professor (JCET)
varnai@umbc.edu
Office: 301-614-6408
NASA/GSFC
Research Faculty
Contact Information
Dominik Cieslak
Cieslak, Dominik
Research Engineer (JCET)
cieslak@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-1982
Physics, Room 416
Ruben Delgado
Delgado, Ruben
Faculty Research Assistant (JCET)
delgado@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-1936
Physics, Room 428
nophoto
Borda, Roberto
Assistant Research Scientist (JCET)
rfborda@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-1982
Physics, Room 416
Sanjit Karmakar
Karmakar, Sanjit
Post-Doctoral Research Associate
sanjitk1@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-1972
Physics, Room 311
Scott Messenger_sm
Messenger, Scott
Sr. Research Scientist
scott.messenger@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-3546
Physics, Room 408
Scott Rabenhorst

Rabenhorst, Scott
Post-Doctoral Research Associate

sraben1@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-2548
Physics, Room 304A
Adjunct Faculty
Contact Information
Michael Fitelson
Fitelson, Michael
Associate Professor
(Northrop Grumman Corporation)
mike.fitelson@ngc.com
Office: 410-765-2547
Bryan Jacobs
Jacobs, Bryan
Associate Professor
(JHUAPL)
bryan.jacobs@jhuapl.edu
 nophoto
Krotkov, Nickolay
Professor
(NASA/GSFC)
Nickolay.A.Krotkov@nasa.gov
Office: 301-614-5553
Marc Kuchner
Kuchner, Marc
Associate Professor
(NASA/GSFC)
Marc.Kuchner@nasa.gov
Office: 301-286-5165
Emeritus Faculty
Contact Information
Raymond Hoff
Hoff, Raymond
Professor
Research Professor (JCET)
hoff@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-1943
Physics, Room 426

Labs: 410-455-1942
Physics, Rooms 433A & B

 Melfi, Harvey
Melfi, Harvey
Professor
melfi@umbc.edu
Robert Rasera
Rasera, Robert
Professor
rasera@umbc.edu
Robert Reno
Reno, Robert
Associate Professor
reno@umbc.edu
Morton Rubin
Rubin, Morton
Professor
rubin@umbc.edu
Geoffrey Summers
Summers, Geoffrey
Professor
gsummers@umbc.edu
En-Shinn Wu
Wu, En-Shinn
Associate Professor
ewu@umbc.edu